New version of PBI - A few questions?

Started by Forst22, February 14, 2025, 04:38:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

John Watson

Perhaps Martin should introduce 3vp for the best CC base?
John

Stewart 46A

The CC can be targeted if in a square with troops ,
If on his own he can't

He can be in a vehicle or on a horse or foot, it makes no difference to his status
Only dies if '1' is rolled for his save

Stewart

martin goddard

He cannot be piggy backing on an infantry man though.

martin :)

Leslie BT

Thank you, I thought this was so but it is not set out in the new rules.

martin goddard

When you make your CC, do give us a picture Les. Your imagination can be exercised.
I am going to make a Dutch CC. My thoughts might be a horse,MC combination or bicycle.  Possibly a car from the SCW range?  The whole idea of custom CCs is very enjoyable to plan.  I might even add a roadside sign as in the SS schwimwagen photo.

https://warfarehistorynetwork.com/article/joachim-peipers-bloody-blitz-through-belgium/


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Saipan#/media/File:Marines_and_King_Kong_on_Saipan.jpg

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fall_of_Singapore#/media/File:Surrender_Singapore.jpg
One for Miles.


martin :)

Smiley Miley 66

#20
I did the Pieper one for the Ardennes game in 2016. I will put a picture up later.
Miles

Pablo

Hello everyone!

If you don't mind, I'd like to take advantage of this thread to ask a question regarding the activation of vehicles.

If I have two vehicles from the same unit in the same square:

  • Do I have to roll 2D6 for each vehicle separately to determine their AP and decide whether I want to reroll before moving to the next vehicle, or do I need to roll 2D6 for all vehicles first and then decide if I want to reroll?
  • If I want to reroll for both vehicles, do I roll the dice just once and apply the result to both vehicles, or can I reroll separately for each vehicle? According to what is stated on page 71, there would be only one reroll that applies to all vehicles I choose to reroll.
  • Is the example on page 95 correct? Reading the example, it seems as if you could roll 2D6 for one tank in a unit, perform actions with that tank, and then roll dice for another tank from the same unit to determine its AP. This is quite different from how infantry units are activated. With infantry, you must first select three squares and then roll dice for those three squares before performing actions with the units in them.

In summary, could you provide an example of how to activate a tank unit where a reroll is used for more than one tank?

martin goddard

#22
Good question Pablo. Thanks for asking it.

That second eg is very wrong. Apologies. Silly me.
To make it better.

Here goes.

Any vehicle on its own. Roll 2D6 for AP. Then use those AP.

A pair of vehicles or guns in the same square.
Roll 2D6.  Re-roll if wished.
Whatever the score is (2-12) apply to both vehicles.

e.g. Two vehicles of same unit in same square. Player rolls 2D6. Scores= 3 and 5=8AP.
Thinks "shall I re-roll?  Decides to re-roll. Scores 1 and 3=4AP. Each of the two vehicles now has 4AP to use.

No vehicle from a unit can do any actions until all the AP are worked out.
This still applies if the vehicles are in separate squares.
No vehicle can do anything until all the AP for a unit are rolled for. Same for all other units.

The vehicle re-roll gives an advantage to vehicles operating  with friends.
Vehicles are always more confident when with other vehicles of their unit. This is called mutual support.  In WW2 tanks would work together in order to identify threats and respond with two heads instead of one.

Tanks on their  own in WW2 were more cautious.



martin :)





Pablo

Thank you so much for your reply, Martín!  :)

If I understand correctly, we could say that tank activation works the same way as infantry units, but you roll two dice instead of one per square. In other words, if there's only one tank in a square, you roll 2d6 and apply the result to that tank. If there are two or more tanks in a square belonging to the same unit, you also roll 2d6 and apply the result to all tanks in that square, with the option to reroll. Essentially, you always roll 2d6 for each square containing tanks from the same unit, and in squares with more than one tank, you can decide if you want to roll the dice again.

martin goddard


Smiley Miley 66

#25
Here is my take on the famous Pieper picture.
Miles



Stewart 46A


Pablo

A question regarding mortars:

According to the manual, mortars belonging to the same unit can only fire from one square, but after watching the video about mortars, they are fired from two different squares. Which one is correct?  ::)

martin goddard

Hello Pablo
This is good work you are doing.
The rule book is correct.

I had better re do the mortar video.

martin :)

Pablo

Here are some more questions that always make me a bit unsure about whether I am doing things correctly or not:

  • Do all units within a square have to perform the same actions, or can some move while others shoot?
  • Do units that move have to move together, or can they split into groups and go to different squares? I assume that in this case, I would need to track the APs remaining for each group separately.
  • Can units within a square split and shoot at different squares? What happens if I want to shoot from a square that contains, for example, three rifle bases at two different squares? Let's say I fire with two bases at one square containing enemy units and the other base at a different square that also contains enemy units. Are both attacks resolved at the same time? Or would one be resolved first, applying the results of return fire to that attack, and then the second attack would be resolved? This is important because if they are not simultaneous and one is resolved before the other, it could happen that the return fire from the first attack eliminates my units, preventing me from carrying out the second attack.
  • Do shots always have to be grouped together? That is, can I fire once, see what happens, fire again, see what happens, and then take the last shot? I understand that this is not the best option because I would receive three instances of return fire, but I still want to be sure that it is possible. In the Return Shooting section, it seems to suggest that shots can be divided.
  • If I shoot at a unit and, by spending dice that were hits, I manage to pin the target, does the return shooting from that pinned unit also lose the first rolled 6?

Thank you all for taking a few minutes to help me clear up my doubts :)