Columns & Flank Attacks

Started by Jae, July 26, 2025, 05:18:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jae

Hi,
Returning to PITS after many years I find some things a little hard to get my head around.
I have watched all the videos & viwed ALL posts here but still find what I think are mutually exclusive statements - probably just me, though.

I read through & re-enacted the Bob vs Jane Battle Report but found it a tad confusing.
The British unit was in Column when the Dervishes appeared, shot at them & then charged.
Not clear if the column was facing the threat head on or if the Dervishes erupted on their flank.

Assuming head on, at what point does the British Column react - before or after the Dervish Shooting? & what counter-moves are possible before their own Opportunity Shooting? Rules say "A defending unit will carry out opportunity shooting into an attacker as he is being charged" but should the Column be unable to manœuvre, then it would only be able to Shoot with 2 bases (if one wasn't an Officer) From your narrative, it did, in fact Shoot.
Presumably, the Column can't Rotate so are we to assume it was able to Deploy out to face the attack & if so by how many bases?
Further, will the British unit be subject to the -1d6 for "Being attacked from the flank or rear this turn or in Column" when reckoning the Fight? 

On the other hand, if the Column was approached from its flank, I'm assuming it would have to turn 90º to face before Opportunity Shooting, facing the penalties for units charged from outside the shooting arc?
As above, will the British unit be subject to the -1d6 for "Being attacked from the flank or rear this turn or in Column"

Hoping for clarity,

Jae


martin goddard

Hello Jae
I will dig into that after Sunday if that is OK?
Very busy day tomorrow.

martin :)

martin goddard

OK here goes Jae. Hope this helps.
I will break it into nice parts.


1. Any unit charged and not facing that charge can rotate.
This rotation will allow the target unit to be picked up and swivelled.
This is not a formation change.
The target unit does all the swivelling, so that its front is facing the charger's front.
Thus, a unit in column that is charged from the flank will be picked up and placed facing the chargers but still in the column formation.
Overall; units will rotate to face any charge.

2.All opportunity shooting is at short range. Thus, any charge is shot at short range.D6 will be rolled dependant on how far the chargers came from. The closer the chargers started, the less likely opportunity shooting is.

3.The -1D6 in the fight is applied if the target was originally charged from the flank, rear or is in column. Any of these criteria create the -1. A combination of event still only creates the -1D6.

3. When the units touch and are fighting they both form a 4 base frontage and get on with the fight.


e.g. A.Dervish unit appears at a 10" distance from the flank of a British column. The Dervish says I am going to charge. If the Dervish dies not want to charge then the British unit carries out no reactions at all.
B. The British unit is picked up and rotated to be face on to the oncoming Dervish unit.
C. Being at 10" the British bases can opportunity shoot with rolls of 4,5,6 as they have plenty of warning. This shooting is carried out when the Dervish unit first reaches short range.

D. If the British achieve any wounds or deads a falter test is carried out. 6=stop.

E Assuming the Dervish charge is not stopped; the two units are made to touch. Both units must make a 4 base frontage.

F. Then the fight, with a -1D6 applied to the British because they were caught in flank/column.


Let us know how you get on.


martin :)



 








 

Jae

Thanks Martin, that's cleared it up quite a bit. It's kinda like I imagined except for the rotation of the Column which still leaves me with questions e.g. can the Column then only attempt Opportunity Shooting with the front 2 ranks - only 2 bases unless one is an Officer, when it will be only 1 base making it all the more likely that the Dervishes will close to contact? I guess, coupled with the -1d6 in the Fight it really punishes the unit for being caught in Column - is that right? I had thought they might be able to turn 90º to present a Line for Shooting but, as you seem to rule out a change in face or formation I guess not - it would probably make it too hard for the Dervish. Swivelling the Column is only a temporary thing anyway as the units will have to immediately coalesce into the 4 base frontage required for the Fight.

Jae

martin goddard

It is tough on the British in column but they took the risk of fast movement over safe formation. 

PITS players need to make decisions.  That is the very essence of the rules.

Many wargamers I meet  want the best formation combined with the best firepower combined with the best morale all in one unit. Despite them wanting that, the game would be awful with no risk or decision making.

Such players often become "alpha" players who set up the table, choose the scenario and control all the game aspects. Such players are to be avoided I think.

Keep up the independence Jae and good luck in the desert.

martin :)

Jae

I'm all for making it hard for the Brits - I usually play the Mahdists :)

However, my opponent has pointed oout that in the Battle Report the Column seems to be able to Rotate as a Column yet still Shoot with all 6 of its remaining Rifle bases:
"As Jane's dervishes reach half range the British "open up" with opportunity shooting. The officer only has a pistol and thus gets no shooting at all. This gives 6 British bases that can potentially shoot"
Am I missing something? The Battle Report clearly has Jane's Devishes Charging a British Column - who presumably Rotate to face the Dervishes but still in column, but Bob seems to Shoot with 6 bases, so his whole Column can Shoot?

Cheers!

Jae

martin goddard

Good point Jae.
It does seem to be a contradiction.
After 13 years my memory on this is not what it should be. Sorry for that.

Probably best to play it the way that you and your opponent agree? I don't want you chaps falling out over this minor issue.


martin :)

Jae

Thanks Martin,

We're happy with your take - just my OCD, I'm afraid.

Honestly, I'm amazed at how you can remember so many rules systems & feel confident that, whenever I ask the many communities I regularly participate in, someone, somewhere will have that little piece of info that has eluded my understanding & enrich my enjoyment of the Beautiful Game(s)

Cheers!

Jae

martin goddard

Thanks for the understanding Jae.

martin :)