Towed guns

Started by martin goddard, May 31, 2024, 11:12:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

martin goddard

I have made the rules simpler for towed guns (I think?).

Towed guns cannot be pinned or take cover.
Towed guns do not interact with foot bases re take cover and pinned.
Towed guns fight as a foot base whether towed or set up.   ie  2D6.

That should work well but needs a little testing.


martin :)

Colonel Kilgore

These are certainly a bunch of simplifications. And have a certain elegance too.

Unwinding this may take a fair amount of forensic review of the current rules, though  :)

Simon

martin goddard

I agree Simon. Each shift creates ripples.

martin :)

Nigel_s

Do you mean fight as a vehicle 2d6? Not fight as a foot base 2d6. Or am I being dopey?

martin goddard

Hello Nigel

Fight as a foot base= attract the modifiers that foot bases get. Also no save roll.
Just pretend the towed gun is a mortar base.

martin :)

Nigel_s

Ahhh got it. Sorry was being dopey.  By fight you meant in an assault. So 3d6 less one for crewed weapon is the 2d6 in your OP

martin goddard

Your Q was good Nigel. Rules can be read in various ways and each one is often right.
I can include my mortar base comparison to clarify.

martin :)