rules: moving rivers/streams

Started by Brent, November 26, 2021, 09:30:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brent

Hello. Two questions about moving scenery.

On page 49 in the section regarding placing/moving scenery it says:
"Any scenery dice rolls carried out against rivers mean that all the scenery dice rolls must be carried out
against rivers. Any success means that all river and bridges are moved to a flank as a complete entity."

#1 Does this mean that if the attacker wishes to try to move a river or stream, they forfeit the ability to try to move any other kind of scenery? They cannot move a Hill, then a Village, then a River. Correct?

#2 Let´s assume that the defender has placed a stream running the length of the table across the three Zones. If the attacker successfully rolls to move the stream, he must A) move it to one of the two flanking Zones, and B) he must place the stream fully within one of those two Zones. Is this correct?

Cheers,
Brent

martin goddard

Good question Brent.
You have it correct but I can clarify it a bit more I think.

1. An e.g should help here.
Player A has rolled a D6 and scored "3" for scenery movements.
This score becomes 3+1=4
Player A now has 4 scenery rolls available to him.
He wants to move the STREAM
The other player then informs him that "If you do this then all 4 scenery moves must be used just on the STREAM movement"
Player A then says "Does that mean i have to use them all for STREAM movement ,even if one of my roll is successful?"
Player B says "Yes".

2.If the  STREAM is moved it must move to one of the flank zones.

Note. Each scenery piece (including streams) must be wholly within 1 of the three "tricolour" table  zones.

Here is what I do when learning a new set of rules.

1. Keep the first 3 games very simple. Most games come "undone" when players want to use everything in game one. 
2. Leave out all scenery.  Leave out all cavalry.
3. Keep armies to just 6 units a side and make the game just an hour long.


good luck Brent


martin :)



Brent