BB65

Started by martin goddard, October 11, 2019, 04:16:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Andy T

#30
We played our first game of BB2 today using version 65 of he rules. Apologies for any repetition but here are a few observations from novices:

p23 section 13 Generals, Method 1 - the word "distribute" would be more descriptive than "sprinkles".
p23 General Leading from the Front on a fight - is this save inclusive of general attached to a unit or should save be reduced further if he is attached?
p30 First do a piggy chase to 32, second para: Loser's total indicates the level of defence (not attack) - not currently consistent with the depletions table.
p34 Defender losses, section labelled Method, para First:

"No hits are applied to a General, hand gunners or guns.
If there are not enough units for 2 per unit then any excess is placed on units wherever in the Zone that the Attacker wishes".

Can attacker now allocate hits above 4 to guns and generals if say, there are only two units in the zone plus, for example, two guns? Does the first sentence belong to the para above on p34?

p34 "Second
The Defender rolls 2D6 for every unit he has deployed thus far.
All zones and all units will be rolled for but the defender can choose in which order to do the Zones.
If the given score is achieved the unit is put off-table into the arrivals area.
No more than 3 units may be put off-table by this method."

So does defender roll for every unit then decide which to send to reserves? Or decide as they go along who will go to reserves (like WA)? Why is order of zone rolling required? Do you therefore stop rolling once 3 units are off-table?

p36 allocate rather than sprinkling?

p40 Turn sequence table section 1, Player has a single ... to use. d6 missing from text?

In general, couldn't find definition of a re-roll but used the statement about hand gunners - re-roll all or none?

p54 The fight:
19. Winner attempts restore order immediately.
Is this statement necessary as winner will have chance to restore order anyway in part 9 of Turn Sequence. Is there any advantage to restoring order immediately?

p65 Artillery Light guns may move one zone in each own turn. When do they do this move? Can they continue their reload wind up if they move?

Hope all this makes sense and sorry if we missed something.   

Leslie BT

p23 section 13 Generals, Method 1 - the word "distribute" would be more descriptive than "sprinkles".  Sprinkles is Martins choice!
p23 General Leading from the Front on a fight - is this save inclusive of general attached to a unit or should save be reduced further if he is attached?  Attached 3+, attached + 1d6 in the fight 4+, attached and 2D6 in the fight 5+ as on p23.
p30 First do a piggy chase to 32, second para: Loser's total indicates the level of defence (not attack) - not currently consistent with the depletions table.
p34 Defender losses, section labelled Method, para First:  All correct as written.

"No hits are applied to a General, hand gunners or guns.
If there are not enough units for 2 per unit then any excess is placed on units wherever in the Zone that the Attacker wishes".

Can attacker now allocate hits above 4 to guns and generals if say, there are only two units in the zone plus, for example, two guns? Does the first sentence belong to the para above on p34?  No, hits for depletions can only be placed on foot bases!

p34 "Second
The Defender rolls 2D6 for every unit he has deployed thus far.
All zones and all units will be rolled for but the defender can choose in which order to do the Zones.
If the given score is achieved the unit is put off-table into the arrivals area.
No more than 3 units may be put off-table by this method."

So does defender roll for every unit then decide which to send to reserves? Or decide as they go along who will go to reserves (like WA)? Why is order of zone rolling required? Do you therefore stop rolling once 3 units are off-table?  Yes the defender chooses and will stop at 3. So choose carefully!

p36 allocate rather than sprinkling? Martin likes the word!!

p40 Turn sequence table section 1, Player has a single ... to use. d6 missing from text?  Corrected in the next version.

In general, couldn't find definition of a re-roll but used the statement about hand gunners - re-roll all or none?

p54 The fight:
19. Winner attempts restore order immediately.
Is this statement necessary as winner will have chance to restore order anyway in part 9 of Turn Sequence. Is there any advantage to restoring order immediately?  Yes mathematically it gives the victor a much higher chance to restore order, but not always.

p65 Artillery Light guns may move one zone in each own turn. When do they do this move? Can they continue their reload wind up if they move?  Yes, move at 6, and reload at 11 in the sequence.

Hope all this makes sense and sorry if we missed something.

Hope that this helps BB67 or BB68 should be out this week.

Andy T

#32
Thanks for the reply, so just to clarify:
p23 Therefore a general needs to be attached to lead from the front?
p30 "Loser's total indicates the level of attack" Level of defence really did make more sense to us.
p34 The confusing bit was the defender rolls 2d6 for every unit, hence the question. So actually, you roll until three units are removed?
p54 A winning side can restore order after the fight and in part 9 of the turn sequence?

Also, did we get this right:
Defender places three units in reserves after depletions, etc. However, when a ward is pushed forward these three units can come straight back on without the need for any dice throwing?

martin goddard

Thanks for  making those points chaps. I will put some clarification in the  rules. Useful feedback.

martin goddard

Hope 70 has addressed all these issues?