Menu

Show posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Show posts Menu

Messages - Andy T

#1
Here are some rules tweaks I have put together. Any comments/criticisms/further ideas really appreciated:

p17 Section 11.2 AFV and Wheeled Soft Skin points
"Katanga Kar Emporium"
Africa is full of random vehicles, ancient armoured cars, adapted limosines, Cold War tanks and converted contraptions. Consequently, getting hold of AFVs and cars is pretty easy. At the Katanga Kar Emporium armies can purchase one vehicle for a unit and get the second half price (Terms and Conditions apply, cheapest half price). For example, if a unit has one Regular Tank Standard Gun and one RegularTank Old Gun the price is 71 points (not 63 points).

p51 Scenery
Any template other than marsh, gully or water can be placed over a road. This represents the road running through a scenery piece. Place the template then replace the road over the scenery. Thus, a road can now go through a wood, town, etc or even over a hill. Road movement applies in the template if a base remains entirely on the road.

p55 Objectives
AFVs may not claim objectives by themselves. They can however contest an objective, denying an opponent victory points.

p57
Point 19 in the summary table, an army may allot any combination of Bonus Move or Aggressive Shot up to three markers (just adds variation and a decision to be made).

Light Mortars.
This is an extra weapon class that represents mortars integral to infantry units and designed to give direct support. We found that on one uses Mortars as is. Same points as mortars.
p76 6th bullet pt ** not light mortars
p80 6th bullet point, light mortars are not classed as heavy weapons so do not need to deploy to shoot
p82 Light mortars do not need to deploy to shoot and can shoot and move but do not count collateral if they move. When they count as Small Arms they retain any Regular or Professional status.

p81 Tank and A/C armed with guns have collateral effect (as it is assumed they will also be armed with HMG and guns have HE).

p98 Morale Table
Tanks, towed guns and A/C count as 2.5 bases for morale (two vehicles/guns are therefore not exhausted if Regular or Professional).

p106
An attacking army may redistribute any of its Arrivals Asset dice to other assets. No more than three extra dice can be reassigned to another asset and dice can be assigned to more than one asset (in a nutshell an attacker only has one arrival so really could use asset dice elsewhere). 

p109/110
+1 each dead base of Regular foot, 1/2 point for Militia, 1.5 points for Professional.


#2
Bloody Barons / Re: BB75
December 07, 2019, 09:07:09 AM
Here is what we are going to try next game:

31. The Fight

Each cavalry unit +2
Cavalry attacking CinC ward +4

Optional House (of York) Rule.

At the end of the game a side may opt to perform a Cavalry Phase instead of dishonourably taking 3 victory points for not charging. If both sides opt for a Cavalry Phase then a Grand Cavalry Melee takes place in the centre of the table to which one general from each side may participate. The winner covers themselves in glory and deservedly takes 3 victory points.


By the way, is there a definition of a Foot Ward with regards to The Fight?
#3
Bloody Barons / Re: BB75
December 06, 2019, 05:25:05 PM
Played a full scenario game today and a couple of points arose:

p31 and p46 - cavalry do not count towards stacking on p31 so do not cause a zone to be over-stacked on p46

p33 "These bases are put away in the toy box". These bases should not be put away as they can be recovered later (p60)

p23 General joining a unit. Just a minor grammatical bit here? A general who is not attached is unattached (no hyphen). To go from attached to unattached you detach him. 

We used cavalry for the first time and really liked the uncertainty/abstract nature of their arrival. We did, however, find them underpowered.
#4
Bloody Barons / Re: BB65
October 30, 2019, 01:56:54 PM
Thanks for the reply, so just to clarify:
p23 Therefore a general needs to be attached to lead from the front?
p30 "Loser's total indicates the level of attack" Level of defence really did make more sense to us.
p34 The confusing bit was the defender rolls 2d6 for every unit, hence the question. So actually, you roll until three units are removed?
p54 A winning side can restore order after the fight and in part 9 of the turn sequence?

Also, did we get this right:
Defender places three units in reserves after depletions, etc. However, when a ward is pushed forward these three units can come straight back on without the need for any dice throwing?
#5
Bloody Barons / Re: BB65
October 29, 2019, 07:33:39 PM
We played our first game of BB2 today using version 65 of he rules. Apologies for any repetition but here are a few observations from novices:

p23 section 13 Generals, Method 1 - the word "distribute" would be more descriptive than "sprinkles".
p23 General Leading from the Front on a fight - is this save inclusive of general attached to a unit or should save be reduced further if he is attached?
p30 First do a piggy chase to 32, second para: Loser's total indicates the level of defence (not attack) - not currently consistent with the depletions table.
p34 Defender losses, section labelled Method, para First:

"No hits are applied to a General, hand gunners or guns.
If there are not enough units for 2 per unit then any excess is placed on units wherever in the Zone that the Attacker wishes".

Can attacker now allocate hits above 4 to guns and generals if say, there are only two units in the zone plus, for example, two guns? Does the first sentence belong to the para above on p34?

p34 "Second
The Defender rolls 2D6 for every unit he has deployed thus far.
All zones and all units will be rolled for but the defender can choose in which order to do the Zones.
If the given score is achieved the unit is put off-table into the arrivals area.
No more than 3 units may be put off-table by this method."

So does defender roll for every unit then decide which to send to reserves? Or decide as they go along who will go to reserves (like WA)? Why is order of zone rolling required? Do you therefore stop rolling once 3 units are off-table?

p36 allocate rather than sprinkling?

p40 Turn sequence table section 1, Player has a single ... to use. d6 missing from text?

In general, couldn't find definition of a re-roll but used the statement about hand gunners - re-roll all or none?

p54 The fight:
19. Winner attempts restore order immediately.
Is this statement necessary as winner will have chance to restore order anyway in part 9 of Turn Sequence. Is there any advantage to restoring order immediately?

p65 Artillery Light guns may move one zone in each own turn. When do they do this move? Can they continue their reload wind up if they move?

Hope all this makes sense and sorry if we missed something.