AK People's Edition Rules Queries

Started by Sean Clark, July 03, 2024, 05:09:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

neonthefox12

Rules Question
Reading HE in communications, it says deviation 1= shot 6 = over.
What exactly does this mean?
Closes i can find deals with placing roads.

JonT

Maybe "shot" is a typo, and should read "short"...? Then it makes more sense!  ;)

Jon.

Sean Clark


Sean Clark

I've tried to post answering Mellis' queries several times but the post keeps getting lost.  ::)

martin goddard

Some thoughts from me about the questions Mark.



1) Other than the pull back after melee, am I correct that unit casualty bases can not move?
Casualties never move unless a fire(burning) event. They can be removed at distance by the 5 on communications.

2) Even though a base is converted to a casualty, you can still 'recover' that base back from the 'dead' though the 'damned militia' communication event. So it's not always really dead.:)
The damned militia are new men that are joining the unit. The limit to initial unit size helps players know which unit the bases are from and prevents players perverting the rules.

3) You can only ever get back to the starting size forces through the 'damned militia' communication event.You can't raise extra troops though this.
You are correct. Players do not have to have a spare box of bases.

4) Does provoked shooting ignore shooting priority and always targets the provoking square ? i.e. either they shoot back at who shot them or at the square where an opponent activated.
Yes, correct. Shoot back at the square that provoked you.

5) A unit does no need to be activated to take cover. I assume not but wanted to check. So taking cover does not generate opportunity fire on it's own as it is not an action.
Taking cover is created by not moving. No AP cost.

6) Is taking cover in effect from the start of a turn i.e. when declared/planned for that turn, or only after the player turn when nothing moves into/out of the Square?
A square needs to do nothing. The take cover reward is earned at the very very end of the turn.

7) A square only provokes opportunity shooting when it attempts an action/makes an AP roll. This affects shooting order so the ative player decides the order of units activated and generating the provoke etc.
We usually do opportunity fr the whole army at the turn start. Then do additional opportunity shots as the turn develops.


Keep on gaming

martin :)


martin goddard

Hello N(?)
Thanks for finding the shot/short error. Where is that please?  Then I can sort it


martin :)

mellis1644

Quote from: martin goddard on August 24, 2025, 05:39:47 PMSome thoughts from me about the questions Mark.


2) Even though a base is converted to a casualty, you can still 'recover' that base back from the 'dead' though the 'damned militia' communication event. So it's not always really dead.:)
The damned militia are new men that are joining the unit. The limit to initial unit size helps players know which unit the bases are from and prevents players perverting the rules.

7) A square only provokes opportunity shooting when it attempts an action/makes an AP roll. This affects shooting order so the ative player decides the order of units activated and generating the provoke etc.
We usually do opportunity fr the whole army at the turn start. Then do additional opportunity shots as the turn develops.

Keep on gaming

martin :)



Thanks for the answer.

For the 'damned Militia' I can see that being the case for the Militia, but for the other levels, especially the professionals to me it feels like the the remainders of the troops returning after handling the casualties etc. but is know this is just a mental thing. 

for the opportunity fire, I think thats an important clarification and could even be in the turn order.

Mark

Smiley Miley 66

I can't seem to find where it says Shot instead of Short ?
Miles

martin goddard

Good point Miles.
It is probably there and  I want to find it.
Maybe it is a playtest copy?

martin :)

Colonel Kilgore

Martin,

I have checked my "published" PDF, and cannot find the mistake.

I think it's something we picked up in proof-reading. The HE section does indeed now say "short" instead of "shot".

Panic over?

Simon

Forst22

#70
Just done my first read through of the new Ak47 rules, and it seems very straight forward (after using the Pbi rules!), Except one anomoly?

Victory conditions

On page 112 bullet point 4, in bold it referee to "the same piece of scenery", but other references on the previous and same page say "in scenery"

The later seems to make more sense ie opponents force -2 if in any scenery between your forward units position and your base line.

martin goddard

Good note Graham.
It is a clarification that maybe needs more sentences.

1. The opponent must be between the  claimer and the claimer's base edge.
2. The claimer must have at least two bases to claim the interrupt.
3. The claimers 2 bases must be in the same square. The claimer cannot have a single base in a scenery piece and a second in another scenery piece.i.e the two must be together not two in total.
4.The claimer's 2 bases must be in a scenery piece and not in partial or open scenery.
5.The two bases must be foot bases.

This should be comprehensive enough to give clarity I hope.
The problem in all rules is that long sets of clarifications as above can make the book very big indeed.

martin :)


Forst22

Just a clarification please on Helicopter arrivals.

P41 says Helicopters arrive when the owner decides 

ok BUT

Do they have to be activated first, either as an original choice of a vehicle at deployment, or after a successful communication result for reinforcements?

Reads like "free" reinforcement? With ultimate ability to arrive exactly when required, (not very peterpig!!!),


I have also found at last a use for my dead cow models, a good way to mark minefield!

martin goddard

Hello Garham

Sounds like you are getting stuck into AK games. Thanks.

Helicopters have their own special part of each turn.
They can arrive at the start of any turn the owning player wishes.
Helicopters then do their actions.
The last action of a helicopter is to roll a D6 for duration. This is deducted from the current duration total for that particular helicopter.
There might be two helicopters in which case thee are two duration totals.
Once the duration equals or exceed 12 the helicopter is removed/lost.
The duration should last about 4 turns.


In summary.
1.The helicopter turns up at any start of any turn the owning player wishes.
2. The helicopter has its own part of the turn. ie the start of the turn sequence.
3. The helicopter dos not have the ability to return or opp shoot.  Thus, it takes little part in the opponent's turn.
4. Any hits on the helicopter on scores of 6 cause more duration helicopter loss.
5. Helicopters are not part of communications in any way. Players just choose at the start of any own turn when they are to arrive.


Hope that makes things clearer Graham.

martin :)