Version 94

Started by Colonel Kilgore, April 16, 2024, 11:13:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Colonel Kilgore

#15
I read the table on page 68 as saying that an MMG can fire up to 3 times at a foot target, but just twice at a vehicle. Can it target both (which would presumably need to be in the same target square) in the same turn? If so, can it apply 2 shots to foot and one to a vehicle?

Simon

ANSWER
If the MMG carries out big shooting it is limited to 2. Just like tank and mortar big shooting. Small shooting MMG is allowed 3 shots.  No mixing of Big and small shooting.

Colonel Kilgore

#16
Page 29 says that transports cannot be hit by on-table mortars. Presumably this means that any motorised infantry on said transports are similarly immune to mortar fire?

Simon

ANSWER
Yes, no vehicles (and anything in/on them) can be mortar targets.

Colonel Kilgore

#17
Page 32 refers to transports with AT. In what circumstances can transport vehicles have any anti-tank weapons?

Simon

ANSWER
It is inly for the Hannomag with 37mm PAK gun.  WW2 is too complicated.

Colonel Kilgore

#18
Page 37: for the avoidance of doubt, a CC who has been attached to one PC cannot in the same turn be picked up and dragged away by a subsequent PC, I think?

Simon

ANSWER
Good one.  How about we add in "CC must declare which PC he will attach to permanently for the current turn".  The CC can only do this after doing his own movement. That nominated PC can drop the CC off but not pick one up. The bond is made at the ned of the CC movement. It can only be broken by the PC.

Colonel Kilgore

#19
Page 38: can casualty markers be removed by a platoon other than that from which the casualties originated, as long as this other platoon is in the same square as the casualty?

Simon

ANSWER
Any foot AP can be used to remove any casualty marker. AP must be spent in the casualty square.

Colonel Kilgore

#20
Page 47: building must overlap one road square: I think this is "one and only one"?

Simon

ANSWER
One square overlapping road  and one square not overlapping road. No other layout allowed.

Colonel Kilgore

#21
Page 53: do I read it right that the Dug In asset applies to a single square each time it is used (i.e. not to a 2-square template or other pair of squares)?

Simon

ANSWER
This is under playtest. But will now cover two next door squares. Those squares will now count as building for assault and big/small shooting. The dug in cannot overlap  gully or marsh. It can overlap two different scenery types.

Colonel Kilgore

#22
Page 55 states that a sniper may shoot at a vehicle. What is the mechanism for him to damage and/or kill a vehicle?

Simon

ANSWER
Shall we change that to . Can only shoot at foot bases.  (not deployed guns)

Colonel Kilgore

#23
Page 60 states (reading it literally) that the smoke retention roll changes from 5,6 to 4,5,6 if any square has 2 smoke in the same square or a smoke in two adjacent squares. I think this enhanced roll should only apply to those specific squares to which these conditions apply?

Simon

ANSWER
Smoke stays on 4,5,6 if own side smoke in face or same square.
Smoke stays on 5,6 in all other cases.

Colonel Kilgore

#24
Page 65 implies that we need to keep track (until the foot bases dismount) of which vehicle is carrying the PC, since he must be in the arrival square. This is at odds with the "decide when you debus" principle elsewhere.

Have I read this right?

Simon

ANSWER
Tricky one.  Shall we say that all transports and vehicles must all arrive in same square. Only foot bases can do the left/right spread?

Sean Clark

Gosh Simon, you've been busy! 😂

Colonel Kilgore

Quote from: Sean Clark on April 17, 2024, 07:26:35 AMGosh Simon, you've been busy! 😂

Well I've been sitting on the master copy for some weeks now. I finally got to the end last night and needed some clarification on a few points. I thought it would be helpful for the other playtesters to see the answers in due course - I think we're often guilty of playing to what we believe is written rather than what is currently written :)

And I do have a bit of a bugbear with tank HE which - if I've got this right - seems rather weak compared to mortars. So I thought that might provoke a lively discussion - or encourage me to get back in my box ;D

Simon

Nigel_s

Great work Simon.

I've queried rotational symmetry previously. Have studied the explanations for longer than is good for my sanity and just don't get it.

I'd ditch the symmetry copy and just talk about centre square to centre square. When in doubt i use my mark one piece of string to check.

Nigel_s

Quote from: Colonel Kilgore on April 16, 2024, 11:30:58 PMFoot hit by off-table HE: I remember this coming up in one of our PBI days - saves are stated to be "normal saves but no short-range modifiers". This is ambiguous, as "normal saves" could be taken to be either those from foot shooting (basic save of 4, 5, 6; benefits if PC or in cover) or the standard "save on a 3, 4, 5, 6" from on-table HE.

I think it's the latter, but in that case why exclude short-range modifiers?

Can you please confirm, Martin?

Simon

Ive always applied the small shooting save modifiers to hits from off-table HE. 

I think your reference to ontable HE saves relates to big gun shooting, not indirect mortars?

Offtable HE hits bases moving in the open currently save on 4+. Switching to the HE big gun on table save which is always 2+ would make it harder to kill troops in open from off table HE.

The way i think about this difference is that big gun HE is a few aimed shots ata known target. Off table (and ontable) HE is many indirect shots spread over a square.

And thinking why a tank HE shell us less effective then indirect when target is in the open i consider this to be due to men being harder to hit with direct fire  buildings.

This does mean there are two save mechanics for players to remember. Which isn't as good as just one.

John Watson

Well done Mr Pedantic Simon! The rules need this scrutiny as Martin's enthusiasm often outpaces his written clarification (which is good otherwise the rules would never be completed).
On the sponson guns, I would lump them in with assault guns simply on the basis that there are so few tanks that have sponsons.
On towed guns in assaults surely you wouldn't take a gun into an assault you'd unhitch it and fire it before the assault. The defenders with an unhitched gun should get a shot in here they come firing and then have the crew fight as an infantry base. If a towed gun is overrun then it is destroyed. That is what my logic is telling me , but what do I know?
John