Mounted CC APs

Started by The Bane, January 05, 2019, 11:14:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Bane

Does a mounted CC Lead with 1d6 AP or 2d6 AP? The Lead option says 1d6 while mounted troops get 2d6 AP when motivated...

Every time I sit down to do a Turn I seem to get lost in the sauce (LLMF), so any answer is appreciated.
The Bane

Leslie BT

The CC works as page 65. He has three options move, lead, help where did you get D6 for AP?

If you are using the PC as a foot base he will get 3D6 as page 66.

Vehicles work as page 74 on wards.

If you are using the Armour only runs you will not have a CC.

The Bane

Leslie BT, thanks for the response!

I understand the three options available to the CC, the one I was referring to was actually "Lead" on page 65, where it says, "A CC may use one of his actions to roll a D6 for AP for a square that he is already in, without needing to motivate the square..."

Basically I am trying to learn PBI and working through the steps in a turn. I am on the CC step. He has failed to "Help" a nearby PC, and now wants to "Lead" two LMG squads that are co-located in his square to act. They are all (CC and two stands of LMGs) mounted on transports (unarmed motorcycles).

The question results from the above situation. Does the CC roll 1d6 for the square he is in per the "Lead" rules on page 65, or does he roll 2d6 under the vehicle / transportation rules to determine action points?

I just don't know,
The Bane

Peterloo

your CC can lead troops, but they must stay with him He cannot mount up so he would lead the M/C using his diceAP (1d6) and they would move at his pace - he does not give them AP like a platoon commander - its a follow me order - he simply moves them.
It does allow for him to move himself 1d6 , then , to use another action of follow me and move troops he has just joined. (so he moves twice in effect)
I suppose if the CC was in a vehicle, he would have to use his follow me to get the vehicle he is in to move then it could be argued he gets 2d6 and if other vehicles are in his square they would move with him.

If he is on foot , he ignores terrain , but if in a vehicle the vehicle would have to include for terrain so 2d6 would seem correct.
I certainly wouldn't quibble with that. - PBI are not WRGAncient competition rules - there's a fair amount of player agreement in a game.  put it to your opponent and see what they agree with.

The Bane

Quote from: Peterloo on January 07, 2019, 01:44:41 PM
<Snipped>
I suppose if the CC was in a vehicle, he would have to use his follow me to get the vehicle he is in to move then it could be argued he gets 2d6 and if other vehicles are in his square they would move with him.

If he is on foot , he ignores terrain , but if in a vehicle the vehicle would have to include for terrain so 2d6 would seem correct.
I certainly wouldn't quibble with that. - PBI are not WRGAncient competition rules - there's a fair amount of player agreement in a game.  put it to your opponent and see what they agree with.

Thanks. The CC is in fact mounted sitting in a square with mounted stands (everyone is being 'Transported' on motorcycles). I did not see where the dice are limited to movement only however. I was thinking with 2d6 he might get them to dismount and provide some suppression fire then use his last action to move away.

Playing solo, so my opponent doesn't know the rules any better than myself. I will discuss it with him and see what he thinks.  ;)

Best,
The Bane