Vital position asset

Started by Pablo, April 25, 2024, 07:28:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pablo

Hello everyone, taking advantage of the ongoing talk about the new rules for Dug In, I have taken the opportunity to review the Vital Position asset, and some doubts have arisen that I would like to ask you about.

According to the Vital Position asset, the first foot hit of each turn is ignored. My questions are the following:

  • if I have 4 foot bases in the square where I have deployed the Vital Position asset, and I receive, for example, 3 hits, I would choose the first of them, following the rules of hit allocation, and the rest my opponent. Since the first hit assigned to a foot base is ignored, can I choose a base for the first hit, ignore that hit, and then choose a base again (even the same one I already chose), leaving only 1 hit to distribute to my opponent? Or does the ignored hit count as my choice, and my opponent would then distribute the remaining 2 hits?
  • The +1D6 per base/vehicle for assaults, I assuming it is only for the defender of the square where the Vital Position asset is deployed, correct? I haven't found any reference to this in the table on page 115 where all the modifiers to the 3D6 that all bases have during an assault are described.

Thank you!

Pablo  ;)

martin goddard

PBI 2015 company commander edition
Hello Pablo

According to the Vital Position asset, the first foot hit of each turn is ignored. My questions are the following:

if I have 4 foot bases in the square where I have deployed the Vital Position asset, and I receive, for example, 3 hits, I would choose the first of them, following the rules of hit allocation, and the rest my opponent. Since the first hit assigned to a foot base is ignored, can I choose a base for the first hit, ignore that hit, and then choose a base again (even the same one I already chose), leaving only 1 hit to distribute to my opponent? Or does the ignored hit count as my choice, and my opponent would then distribute the remaining 2 hits?

The -1 is applied the moment the shooter has rolled his dice.
e.g. the opponet says "I have achieved 4 hits." The target says "no, that is only 3 hits achieved".


The +1D6 per base/vehicle for assaults, I assuming it is only for the defender of the square where the Vital Position asset is deployed, correct?

You are correct Pablo.
e.g. 3 bases holding a vital position.+1, +1, +1 = 3 extra D6 for the target only. Assaulter never gets this.
It is not in the table because it only applies on rare occasions.

I haven't found any reference to this in the table on page 115 where all the modifiers to the 3D6 that all bases have during an assault are described.

Pablo, if you e mail me I will sned you a df of the version of PBI we are testing right now.


martin :)

Pablo

Thank you for your answers Martin!

I have sent you an email!  ;)

Pablo

martin goddard

Gone to you Pablo

Good luck

martin :)