Question on turning ships multiple times in one turn...

Started by Commander Klank, July 17, 2022, 09:14:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Commander Klank

We where playing HI today and there was a bit of confusion about turning a ship on it's first movement point and subsequent point costs for turns after that. Example a (fast) ship that has 3 movement points from a full speed order at the start of the ships movement: can you turn the ship one hex side left or right and then move into the next hex for one point cost, then turn the ship one hex side left or right in that hex and move into the next hex (2 count), turn the ship one hex side left or right in that hex and move into the next (3 count)? I was thinking turn pivots cost one point of movement after the fist (free) pivot at the beginning of the ships movement, others felt you get the 45% pivot as part of the turn into a new hex move... the part explaining turning in the rule book caused a bit of confusion. Thoughts?

martin goddard

Hello Ken

Good to hear from you.

A good day to be in the water. :)

It can be confusing, but see if this helps?
A ship can use a hex of movement to either move directly forward or twist 1 face and then move directly forward. No movement potential is lost by twisting /turning.


martin :)

Commander Klank