towed guns in melee

Started by Peterloo, March 06, 2018, 09:28:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Peterloo

hi
interesting one.
guns being towed , attacked in melee by my armoured cars. - how many dice do the towing gun tractors get? - we gave them 1d6 - for the gun crews - but - are they  transports ? - do the gun crew count as a foot base ?

Leslie BT

Peter I think you were a bit mean.
When it is towing it counts as a transport, page 114 gives it 3D6 + 1D6 for each base carried.
Page 127 states its a transport when limbered.
If it was an armoured half-track, as a tow it would still count as transport and get the above dice. And on page 128 states it may not have a MG mounted on the vehicle.

Martin may have more comments when he returns.

Peterloo

I did look to see if its a transport , - but its an unarmed truck towing a gun - how offensive can it be?

Possibly as it explodes it could damage the armoured car.

so according to the rules an armoured car gets 4d6 (3d6+1d6 for its armour ) a truck with 1 base on board gets 3d6+1d6 for crew so is evens with an armoured car.

realistically its one of those situations were there's no fight back, the crew  run, or die , or surrender.
your in a truck and an armoured car rocks up and riddles the truck, if your not dead your not really in any position to fight back.