RFCM

Rules => Civil War Battles => Topic started by: Bankinista on August 08, 2025, 01:08:51 PM

Title: Field Battery Gamette
Post by: Bankinista on August 08, 2025, 01:08:51 PM
A blast from the past I realise! In the Mill 5, Part B, Field Battery Gamette there are effects given for fire on the battery. How? They are not fired upon and the rules specifically state "The only shooting carried out in "Field Battery" is by the gun."
I am using "The assaulter may deduct some of his movement d6 and make a more cautious advance. The deductions allow sniper and skirmishers to roll instead (if these are an available request). Does this make sense or am I missing something?
 
Derek of Cambridge
Title: Re: Field Battery Gamette
Post by: Leman (Andy) on August 09, 2025, 04:38:51 PM
It appears to me that if the request for skirmishers/snipers is successful, then their effect is only at the gun's short range, when it loses 1D6 as it is being harried by skirmish fire. There is no need to carry out skirmish fire. At short range, should the assaulter roll a double six among his movement dice, then one of the assaulters has acted like a skirmisher (whether the assaulter has requested skirmishers or not) and a gun crewman has been killed. Thus the statement that the gun is the only weapon that rolls dice for firing stands.