RFCM

Rules => Pieces of Eight => Topic started by: Forst22 on March 08, 2023, 11:27:07 AM

Title: Ending land battles
Post by: Forst22 on March 08, 2023, 11:27:07 AM
Quick question about extending land battles beyond 2x4 turns.

When the attacker reaches his turn 5 I understand he has the option to end the game or roll to extend with 6dice and needs a 5 or 6.

But the rules say he must also buy a defender turn BUT it also says the attacker may frequently have 5 turns to defenders 4 so does this mean that the attacker must declare when rolling for extension

A) he is rolling for an attacker turn only? (So the game will definitely end then)
Or
B) he is rolling for an attacker and defender turn (so he can roll again with the same choice again at the start of his next turn, but with less dice)?

Or have I missed the point?
Title: Re: Ending land battles
Post by: martin goddard on March 08, 2023, 12:01:04 PM
Good Q

Every extra turn must be bought by the attacker.

e.g Attacker says "I would like an extra turn"  Rolls 6D6 and scores. 3,3,6,5,4,1. He has scored one or more 5,6 so there is another turn.
The game has ended unless the attacker buys the defender a turn.
The attacker rolls 5D6.  3,4,5,4,5. He has scored a 5,6 so the defender has a turn.
The attacker now has 4D6 if he wants to buy himself another turn. He dicid that he wants this.
He rolls 4,5,2,2. The 5 allows him to have another turn.
The attacker then decides that he does not want to buy any more turn sso he game ends.

All this is at the attacker's behest.

Hope this casts light.

martin :)
Title: Re: Ending land battles
Post by: Colonel Kilgore on March 08, 2023, 12:24:37 PM
That's a good, clear, summary Martin. Good for future reference!

Simon
Title: Re: Ending land battles
Post by: martin goddard on March 08, 2023, 04:48:25 PM
The topic title will attract lots of peace loving voters.


martin :)