Is it me or do the last two sentences on page 74 about zone control when enemy are between you and your start line contradict? One says count all square between occupied and base edge even if blocked, the other says unless interrupted?
Can both attacker and defender count the same squares if defender gets behind attacker?
If you manage to get control of the enemy's centre base line square you can count 2,1,1,1 = zones
But what do you count if defender manages to get into the 2 attacker row in sufficient strength
Is it 2,1,0,1 for attacker and 0,1,1,0 for defender as each counts unoccupied as to the rear? (Ie count the square you occupy and any not occupied by the enemy to your rear?)
Or
2,1,1,1 for attacker and 0,1,1,2 for defender? (Ie any you occupy and all ones to rest even if enemy held?)
Or something different!
Otherwise love the rules!
Ow!.........my head. Would be really interested to hear "An Idiot's Guide" style reply to this question. My guess is it will be go with A or go with B.
My understanding is that you score points for every zone you occupy with the requisite number of bases. If the occupied zone has a clear line straight back to your own base edge, with no enemy in between the occupied zone and the base edge, then you score points for those unoccupied zones.
If there are enemy bases between the zone you occupy and your own base edge you only score the points for the zone or zones that you occupy. The same applies to your enemy.
John
I could go with that!
But I can see some logic in saying you also get control of any unoccupied squares between the intervening enemy, and your own base line? Thus leaving only the deadground between the two competing wards uncounted??
Thanks for the input
Forst22 - different RFCM rules have used both of these approaches.
It's just a matter of remembering which one applies for which version of which ruleset :D
Simon