RFCM

Rules => Hammerin' Iron => Topic started by: Commander Klank on July 22, 2022, 12:47:16 PM

Title: Failed ram on a sand bar question
Post by: Commander Klank on July 22, 2022, 12:47:16 PM
So in our last game a Confederate ram equipped gunboat rams a Union ironclad (stuck on a sand bar) and fails it's sand bar roll (11) when it enters the sand bar hex to make the attack... to make matters more interesting there is a second ship, another Confederate gunboat, in the sandbar hex with the Union ship. We had decided in hexes occupied with two ships it will be what you see is what you get to determine side exposure of those ships. So... there was no room for the ramming ship in the sand bar stuck hex so we played it as a failed ram and the ship had to sit in the ajacine hex with the RAM card for one turn... then there was debate as to if it was stuck in a non sand bar hex.

What is the groups take on this?
Title: Re: Failed ram on a sand bar question
Post by: martin goddard on July 22, 2022, 02:32:42 PM
Wow Jerry. A multiplex of horror.
Whatever you agreed on the day would be fine.

My take is that the potential rammer does not get to ram as he has run aground (fool that he is ) before any ram action happens.  i.e he is stuck in the hex he was trying to ram from.

Your solution was still fair so it stands.

It will be 24 more games before it happens again so all is fair.

martin :)
Title: Re: Failed ram on a sand bar question
Post by: sukhe_bator (Neil) on July 22, 2022, 03:15:43 PM
A question of lack of forward momentum and too much drag I'd have thought. There is no way a fouled ship would gain enough speed to either manoeuvre or ram the target... Martin's call is the correct one.

Neil
Title: Re: Failed ram on a sand bar question
Post by: Sean Clark on July 23, 2022, 12:56:49 AM
I concur. A most unusual set of circumstances! I think you have to just agree on the most plausible outcome,  which it sounds like you did.
Title: Re: Failed ram on a sand bar question
Post by: Commander Klank on July 23, 2022, 05:31:21 AM
I used a poor choice of words in the beginning; instead of "rams" I should have said "attempted a ram attack"... he rolled for the sand bar as soon as he entered it (shallow ship) and rolled an 11 so no ram attack happened. The ship was put into the adjacent hex he came from and given the rammer card. The Confederates argued the ship can't be stuck in a non sand bar hex; it was near the end of the battle and I was just glad the ram attack failed and was happy with that. He still got the RAMMER card for the next turn, had to sit there and paid dearly for his actions.
Title: Re: Failed ram on a sand bar question
Post by: Smiley Miley 66 on July 23, 2022, 08:27:12 AM
I think the end result is fair.
On the Sandbars, they do actually shift ? Obviously not in the "time frame" of the game but you could use the argument that the silt is building up in the Hex next door and got stuck on that ? As the Sandbar in that area not just the confines of that Hex. We conveniently put them into a Hex. But obviously they will cover areas that beyond the boundaries of our imaginary Hex line ?
Miles
Title: Re: Failed ram on a sand bar question
Post by: Sean Clark on July 23, 2022, 11:07:02 AM
Good point Miles. So long as you're  amongst like minded gamers these issues can be resolved to everyones satisfaction. 
Title: Re: Failed ram on a sand bar question
Post by: Smiley Miley 66 on July 23, 2022, 11:56:26 AM
That would seem the most plausible result and some form of explanation?
Miles