Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Any ZoC?? Pinnning??  (Read 1183 times)

zelzelus

  • Piglet
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Any ZoC?? Pinnning??
« on: June 30, 2016, 04:42:38 AM »
We had a situation where a Parliamentary Square facing an Royalist square (with infantry) moved left and attacked backward toward its baseline, thereby attacking a Royalist different square in the rear. we found this very strange in face of the Enemy. Is there anything to stop this or any rationale?? This prospect of twerling battles has us rather perplexed but perhaps we have missed something??.

 Thx Zel

Lurkio

  • Hog the Limelight
  • *
  • Posts: 369
    • View Profile
    • Lurkio
Re: Any ZoC?? Pinnning??
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2016, 03:44:01 PM »
I thought that this was going to be an easy one. Normally in the grid game you have to retire toward your own baseline. So attacking in the rear can be done. But is high risk (and reward) and neither side can retire. So the loser always suffers the no retreat  - extra hits

However, in ROF it does say that towards your baseline is only a priority and only routs if it cannot move into one of the 4 cardinal squares.

So that is most likely one for Martin , as it doesn't say who picks (like retreats in the fortified manor)

Simon

zelzelus

  • Piglet
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Any ZoC?? Pinnning??
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2016, 11:45:25 PM »
You mistake the question...we are more concerned that a square with units to its front can merely sidestep and move past it (ignore it) without any restrictions, esp given we are talking about pike/shot blocs that are nowhere near maneuverable.

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Wild Boar
  • *****
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
    • Lurkio
Re: Any ZoC?? Pinnning??
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2016, 08:48:50 AM »
Section 19

Breaking contact
If a unit is in face contact with an opponent’s square (ignore unworthy squares) it cannot move away from that contact in order to assault a new contact in the same turn.
It may however move away from the contact and not engage in an assault but still make contact with a new enemy face, just not assault it.
This rule does not stop a unit from choosing which opponent square to assault if there are several options available to the present square occupied.
Note that cavalry can pass by enemy faces and assault a new target. The rule applies to where the unit starts.


This?

martin goddard

  • RFCM Admin Supporter
  • Hog the Limelight
  • *
  • Posts: 1983
    • View Profile
Re: Any ZoC?? Pinnning??
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2016, 07:34:33 PM »
That is it.
Don't forget that a square with enemy squares facing, will suffer for each facing  square with enemy in it.  Thus if there were 2 such faces (because you had advanced through an opponent  line) that would cause 2 morale dice ,without any other circumstances interfering. It is likely that a roll of 2 D6 would result in 1 fail (4,5,6)thus the square would not be able to move that turn. The square might then easily get cut off and cut up.


martin

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Wild Boar
  • *****
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
    • Lurkio
Re: Any ZoC?? Pinnning??
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2016, 08:12:53 PM »
There would have to be cause for a test though Martin. Assuming it is a breakthrough then the winning square won't have any casualties to trigger the test