Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Rolling scenery  (Read 141 times)

martin goddard

• RFCM Admin Supporter
  • Hog the Limelight
    • View Profile
Rolling scenery
« on: May 07, 2020, 04:55:50 PM »
Now and then I see or hear of a game wherein the scenery moves but the vehicle, ship of men do not.

I tried this once with a 25mm train raid set in the ACW.
5 feet of train track.
Train and coaches with open sides.

What are your thoughts and experiences with such games?

martin

Colonel Kilgore

• RFCM Admin Supporter
  • Hog the Limelight
    • View Profile
Re: Rolling scenery
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2020, 05:24:16 PM »
I have no experience with this format, but it's a clever idea (similar to racing car video games, when the road rushes past you).

It sounds a little complicated, and doesn't immediately appeal for a "main" game. Perhaps a bit of fun in a gamette (but also lots of scenery might be required...)?

Simon

Nick

• Supporter 2020
  • Hog the Limelight
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2020, 06:53:07 PM »
Not for me. Sounds clever but not very practical. For a special one off game maybe but thats all.

Nick

Big Mike

• Supporter 2020
  • Hog the Limelight
  • "Bring up the PIAT!"
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2020, 07:03:11 PM »
PITS uses a variation on this idea, with scenery popping up as the game progresses.
Paul and I used a rolling scenery set-up for our WW2 Tunisia campaign which used the PBI gridded system. After very game the last 2 rows of scenery of either table were the basis for the next games  set-up. This depended who won the last game as the losers had to re-form in their last 2 rows.
Mike.

Matías

• Domestic Pig
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2020, 10:31:37 PM »