Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Land Raid #16  (Read 75 times)

Colonel Kilgore

  • RFCM Admin Supporter
  • Hog the Limelight
  • *
  • Posts: 2064
    • View Profile
Land Raid #16
« on: November 06, 2018, 07:14:56 PM »
What is the general consensus on the number of figures per base - is there a trend towards either 2 or 3?

And similarly (after the bad behaviour exhibited by many of us with both the Vietnam and Western rules...), are folk using the prescribed 30x30 mm bases, or tending more towards 2p coins?

Stewart 46A

  • Supporter 2018
  • Hog the Limelight
  • *
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Land Raid #16
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2018, 08:40:29 PM »
I have based  officers singler , character is based with 2 bodyguards, Pirates are based in 3’s,
Scurvy Townes folk are based in 2’s. All on 2p pieces, to show their irregular formation. The  defenders able figures are based in 2’s but on 30x30 so show their trained and formed status.
This is how I want my forces to look but basesing in the rules is only a suggestion.

martin goddard

  • RFCM Admin Supporter
  • Hog the Limelight
  • *
  • Posts: 1983
    • View Profile
Re: Land Raid #16
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2018, 09:52:21 PM »
My chaps are on 3x3 bases because that is how painter Dave did them 25 years ago.   There are several areas in POE which will get options.

Colonel Kilgore

  • RFCM Admin Supporter
  • Hog the Limelight
  • *
  • Posts: 2064
    • View Profile
Re: Land Raid #16
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2018, 10:07:42 PM »
Thanks chaps - very useful.

And I'm working on the assumption that the rules are, in any case, just for guidance :)

martin goddard

  • RFCM Admin Supporter
  • Hog the Limelight
  • *
  • Posts: 1983
    • View Profile
Re: Land Raid #16
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2018, 09:27:42 PM »
Indeed!

Leslie BT

  • Supporter 2018
  • Hog the Limelight
  • *
  • Posts: 1237
    • View Profile
Re: Land Raid #16
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2018, 09:35:17 PM »
Mine are based for the old rule set.
So scurvy 5 figures per 3x3 base.
So able 4 figures per 3x3 base.
So battle hardened 3 figures per 3x3 base.
So officers 2 figures per 3x3 base.
Casualties 25mm round.

Colonel Kilgore

  • RFCM Admin Supporter
  • Hog the Limelight
  • *
  • Posts: 2064
    • View Profile
Re: Land Raid #16
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2018, 08:56:58 AM »
Wow - that must be a lot of figures! But I guess they look very good...

Leslie BT

  • Supporter 2018
  • Hog the Limelight
  • *
  • Posts: 1237
    • View Profile
Re: Land Raid #16
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2018, 02:21:31 PM »
That's how the last set of rules used the figures on bases.
I bought the boxed set of figures B1003 Raid on Port St George. £70.

So it does give me enough figures for both sides, I did also buy some extra officers.

Colonel Kilgore

  • RFCM Admin Supporter
  • Hog the Limelight
  • *
  • Posts: 2064
    • View Profile
Re: Land Raid #16
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2018, 03:05:31 PM »
I bought the boxed set of figures B1003 Raid on Port St George. £70.

I wish I'd thought of that - that's a great-value deal on current pack prices!

Colonel Kilgore

  • RFCM Admin Supporter
  • Hog the Limelight
  • *
  • Posts: 2064
    • View Profile
Re: Land Raid #16
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2018, 07:02:13 AM »
Martin,
In addition to my more detailed mark-up of Land Rules #16 (a scan of which will be winging its way to you and Les shortly), a few questions of principle, please:

 - Under Deployment, I’m not sure I understand the phrase ‘ “Bases” does not include a first officer base”. Can future versions please clarify?
 - Morale: we currently have a score of 4 as both removing any opponent base and “no base lost”…
 - Shooting talks about targeting diagonal squares “if visible”. I think we need to define what we mean by “visible”?
 - In the Fighting table (page 26) an extra 2D6 hits are inflicted on “Winner or if withdrawing before the fight or falls back”. Should “winner” read “loser”?
 - Sometimes “important” buildings are stated as including barracks. But barracks cannot be plundered. So I think we should keep both terms and say “important buildings and barracks” where appropriate
 - Gathering: it seems that the notions of officers “gathering bases into their own square” and “gathered bases do not have to join the officer’s group” and ”gathering might be used to move bases from one square to another” are somewhat at odds with each other. In any case, they’ve left me a bit confused!
 - Clothing: are we going to have a little more on colours to paint our little men, here, please?