Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - lowroller

Pages: [1]
1
Bloody Barons / units partly in terrain and St. Alban's.
« on: March 28, 2019, 12:05:37 PM »
I don't know how this would impact the new gridded BB, but for those of us still fighting 'old style' BB...

If a unit has part of its front edge in terrain (say building areas) and part in the open, and can contact enemy while in that situation, reading the rules suggests it is a valid fight, and the unit does NOT need to test for disorder, as it has not exited the terrain.

This is a real problem for the St. Alban's scenario (which is a battle that fascinates me).
If defenders barricade part-way down the lanes and form up two wide down the lanes to defend the barricades (and to have clear shooting forward for all archer bases), they will suffer the -6 penalty in the fight for 2 files, but attackers who in reality would be funnelled up the lanes can attack in a line, straddling the lane, and not suffer the penalty.
If defenders barricade the main street end of the lanes, they can form line in the street while defending the barricades with 2 bases and having a base front each side, but none of the archers will be able to shoot, as more than 1 base front is obscured by terrain.

I think St. Alban's requires a scenario rule - maybe defining the buildings as TOWN: more dense than normal buildings areas, and only crossable in column (or something like that - I haven't tested such a rule yet).  That would allow Warwick's historical manoeuvre through the 'backs', but force him to then change formation and facing in the street to fight along the street afterwards.  It would also prevent any troops contacting the flank of double-file defenders in the lanes, as the column could not charge through the houses into them (columns cannot start a fight).

Any thoughts?

2
Bloody Barons / Units 'replaced' in the fight
« on: March 25, 2019, 05:37:15 PM »
The rules on page 51 are perfectly clear what happens if the currently fighting unit is replaced by a fresh unit moving in from behind - the original unit pulls back to just behind the replacing unit.
However, if the enemy is attacked by a fresh unit from the flank, what happens to the original unit? It has to break contact, as the game stipulates one unit per side in the fight. So how far?  A minimal distance, just to show they are not involved? Or a standard morale result 'fall back'? (Which could be far more than the simpler example, so I doubt that is the intent).

3
Bloody Barons / Flank attacks and casualties
« on: March 24, 2019, 01:58:03 PM »
Apologies if this has been raised before, but I have not seen it.

I am a bit perturbed about flank attacks. 
The rules on p49 say all casualties [hits?] are placed on the front rank bases... Saves are carried out for each base once all of the hits are distributed.

This suggests that if a typical 8-base unit is attacked frontally, it could take 4 casualties (if all 4 bases fail saving throws), but if attacked in the flank and it turns to face, it will only ever suffer 2 casualties, as all the hits are distributed on the 2 now front rank figures before saving throws. (Incidentally, if it does NOT turn to face, does it still stand to take 4, although 3 'front rank' bases are not in contact?  So you might still hit 3 fighters and a captain rather than any second-rank bows?)

This rather emasculates a flank attack, so I tend to distribute one hit per front rank base, then do saving throws for all those; if a base remains standing, give it another hit and attempt save and so on, but if all front rank bases are casualties before the hits are all used up, they are distributed on the newly-exposed rank.  Not what the rules say on a strict reading, but it seems a better reflection of the flank attack to me.  The flank attack is already reduced in effectiveness by being treated as a replacement of any existing frontal attack rather than an addition, allowing a possible turn to face.

I would be interested to read counter-arguments. 

4
Hammerin' Iron / Confused about rules versions
« on: March 17, 2019, 03:30:51 PM »
Hello

I am confused...
I bought a glossy,  comb-bound edition of Hammerin' Iron rules from Peter Pig a few years ago. They are marked as RFCM Team copyright 2011.
But I have come across a Quick Reference sheet for Hammerin' Iron II marked as "Hammeriní Iron 2 Quick Ref Sheet
Version 1.0. P.Schulein, 2003 Hammering Iron 2 rules by the RFCM, 1999".  This QRS includes crew casualties, morale, and clearly different dice rolls for various effects.
Does this mean that HI II is older than my rule set, which supersedes it and simplifies the game? 

This confusion could be avoided if the rules were called Hammerin' Iron III or similar, or contained a list of previous versions.

5
Hammerin' Iron / Islands and Sandbars - moving
« on: March 12, 2019, 08:19:42 PM »
After initial placement by the defender, the Attacker gets an opportunity to roll for moving islands and/or sandbars.
The procedure is defined clearly on page 17 in table sections 11 and 12 - up to a point.

BUT having said how to determine how many dice to roll for attempts, and that each roll fails on 1,2,3 and succeeds on 4,5,6, there is no explanation of how far they can be moved.

Following the example of objectives placement. I ruled that after a successful roll, a second roll gave 1,2,3 = 1 hex movement, 4,5,6 = 2 hexes movement, but sandbars had to keep their original orientation, and if an island moved so as to separate a sandbar from any land contact, the sandbar would slide into contact with the nearest bank.

However, I would like to know:
  • What is your system for moving islands/sandbars?
  • When sandbars are moved, do you allow them to be pivoted, or reshaped?

6
Hammerin' Iron / Opportunity Firing from forts
« on: February 28, 2019, 12:09:53 PM »
In the Fort Firing Phase, the method of determining guns available to fire is: roll 1D6 per gun IN THE FORT, each 5,6 is a success and owner then chooses which guns to fire.
However, it is not 100% clear whether forts are supposed to use this same method during Opportunity Fire, or the same method as ships. Ships roll 1D6 per gun IN FACING SALVO (M, then H, then L).  Using this system would usually reduce the number of fort guns available and also remove the free choice of which guns.

So, which system should be used for Fort Opportunity Firing?

7
Hammerin' Iron / Spar torpedo attacks
« on: February 25, 2019, 08:46:07 PM »
The rule says "the torpedo boat is placed on the left or right broadside gun line from any enemy ship that has not moved".  I wondered how you could determine whether the ship has moved until I looked more closely at the Submarine rules, which say "... a ship that has not moved in the previous turn."  So I am assuming that is the intent with the spar torpedo attack also.  Right?

8
Bloody Barons / Rule Updates on the Peter Pig site
« on: May 06, 2018, 03:36:52 AM »
I would like to say that I fully support Barry Slemmings' suggestion re Archers shooting from rear ranks. I am not as well read on the period as Barry obviously is, but I had been thinking along very similar lines myself already. 

I particularly like the idea of giving units the chance to exchange ranks instead of opportunity shooting when charged.

I take his point about 'all-Household' units, but think it might complicate the game to follow this. You would also need to be very careful about always identifying which bases in any given unit were the Household ones. I can imagine them frequently being overlooked.  You would also need to change the morale modifiers to cover 'units with Household bases included' rather than just -1D6 for Household units.

9
Bloody Barons / Artillery shooting - simple question
« on: May 06, 2018, 03:25:54 AM »
Rule 26.8 Artillery
"Artillery is dealt with differently than other distant weapons such as bows and handguns..."
Second bullet point "Any scores of 6 indicate an immediate kill..."

I read this as meaning ONLY rolls of 6 cause any hits and are immediate kills without saving throws (apart from the listed base types in the third bullet), but my regular gaming buddy reads it as meaning hits as per other shooting rules, but 5 has all the usual saving throws, while 6 is an immediate kill, with the listed exceptions.

Which reading is the intended rule?

Thanks.

Pages: [1]